Alkyl Halides

Alkyl halides are esters of alcohols and hydracids. Based on the carbon to which halogen is attached, alkyl halides are classified into primary, secondary and tertiary halides.

Based on the number of halogens, alkyl halides are of the following types:

  1. Alkyl mono halides
  2. Alkyl dihalides
  3. Alkyl trihalides
  4. Alkyl tetrahalides

Ethyl chloride: C2H5Cl

Chloroform: CHCl3