Group 18 Elements

Helium, Neon, Argon, Krypton, Xenon and Radon are collectively known as noble gases or Aerogens or rare gases. They have completed s and p orbitals in the outer shell.

As they are chemically inert these are known as inert gases. These elements are also known as aerogens because they are available in air.

All these elements have the general electronic configuration ns2np6 in their valence shell except helium, which has 1s2 configuration.